No… It can’t be…: Release date of Half Blood Prince moved to NEXT SUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!

(Veritaserum) Warner Bros. has announced that the release date of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince has been moved to next summer from its original date of November 21. HBP will now open in theatres (both domestically and internationally) on July 17, 2009.

Alarn Horn, President and Chief Operating Officer of Warner Bros., said:

Our reasons for shifting ‘Half-Blood Prince’ to summer are twofold: we know the summer season is an ideal window for a family tent pole release, as proven by the success of our last Harry Potter film, which is the second-highest grossing film in the franchise, behind only the first installment. Additionally, like every other studio, we are still feeling the repercussions of the writers’ strike, which impacted the readiness of scripts for other films–changing the competitive landscape for 2009 and offering new windows of opportunity that we wanted to take advantage of. We agreed the best strategy was to move ‘Half-Blood Prince’ to July, where it perfectly fills the gap for a major tent pole release for mid-summer.

Jeff Robinov, President of Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group, confirmed,

The release date change does not alter the production schedule for this or future Harry Potter films. Post-production on ‘Half-Blood Prince’ was completed on time, and the studio’s release plans for the two-part ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows’ will not be affected by this change. We know Harry Potter fans are eagerly anticipating seeing the final chapters unfold onscreen. In fact, the good news for them is that the gap will now be shortened between ‘Half-Blood Prince’ and the first part of ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.’

Proof capture from the official Half Blood Prince Site.

===

And I say it’s bull shit! Is this the only reason? Making Money? I mean every fan would go watch the movie in theatres at November ANYWAY. What would that change? I can’t believe it. I’m so stunned right now. It’s disgusting. We were all waiting for the movie and now it’s complete we can’t watch it? Incredible. This will make some noise, that’s for sure.

Explore posts in the same categories: Half Blood Prince Movie, Harry Potter

5 Comments on “No… It can’t be…: Release date of Half Blood Prince moved to NEXT SUMMER!!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. grottodiego Says:

    I feel so frustrated as do most Potter fans so I’m taking this opportunity to promote these Potter “cover-fiction” stories.
    Check out http://www.elderscrossing.com, http://www.gatekeeperscurse.com, or my blog http://www.grottodiego.wordpress.com
    The story continues
    Maybe it will help you wait

    ON THE OTHER HAND
    AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!WarnerBros SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’M DONE WITH ANYTHING THEY PUT OUT. I’M FINISH WITH THEM. You guys can wait for Half-Blood Prince to come out next summer. I’m not waiting for anything they have anymore. THWT

  2. Misao Says:

    Oh My God I think I’m going to die !
    In one forum I saw someone saying that August the 15th was a bit like a jokes’ day, like April the 1st for the French ! Could it be a BAD joke ?? I need to do some research on that !
    But still, it’s way disgusting !
    I have other pictures if you want, so tell me ^^

  3. Soulbrave22 Says:

    I Know!
    I Know!
    This Sucks!!!
    This Really Sucks!!!
    Im So Disappointed of WB…
    =(

  4. berowl Says:

    Hi again misao
    and I hope it’s not a bad joke, that the last 5 hours since I read these news had been a bad dream…

    I guess I could see your pics, but I have a lot of them, I just don’t post each and everyone of them… but thanks anyway

  5. Mystery... Says:

    i think that WB knows what he’s doing and that is right!…


Leave a Reply

